The key to your success is our people. Get to know our seasoned leadership team as well as our prestigious four-person Board of Advisors.


Our leadership team brings hands-on management experience and a wealth of technical knowledge to ensuring our solutions meet the complex needs of our clients.

Gilbert Torres, President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) 

Before taking the helm at Sigma Science, Gil held leadership roles at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) in Los Alamos, New Mexico, including Packaging and Transportation Program Director for High Hazard Operations and Nuclear Safety Deputy Division Leader. He has a Master of Science degree in Industrial Engineering, a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering, and over 25 years of experience in nuclear operations and engineering within the Department of Energy (DOE)/National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) complex. Gil is passionate about attracting and retaining the highest caliber of technical experts by providing employees with rewarding and challenging career opportunities.

In McCann, Executive Vice President

In has more than 20 years of extensive experience in cybersecurity, software engineering, data science and analytics, digital transformation, robotics, remote sensing, communications, and information technology. Prior to joining Sigma Science, he spent 17 years at Sandia National Laboratories (SNL) in Albuquerque, New Mexico, holding various senior leadership, programmatic, and technical positions. Most recently, In led SNL’s Information Management and Enterprise Data Strategies team. He has a Master of Science degree in Computer Science and a Bachelor of Science degree in Biochemistry.

Kimberly Pena, Chief Financial Officer (CFO)

Kimberly has more than 28 years of experience in finance, accounting, and regulatory compliance for a variety of public and private companies, including large multinational corporations in various industries. She has a Bachelor of Business Administration degree, with a concentration in Accounting, and she is a Certified Public Accountant. Kimberly was inducted into the University of New Mexico (UNM) Anderson School of Management Hall of Fame in 2013, and she was also a nominee for the San Diego Business Journal’s 9th Annual Women Who Mean Business Award. She is a former Trustee of the University of New Mexico Foundation Board and is currently a lector for the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary Catholic Church.


Our Board of Advisors is comprised of renowned experts in nuclear safety, nuclear security, and engineering. Together, they have over 100 years of experience in the federal nuclear enterprise.

Dr. Donald L. Cook, PhD

Former Deputy Administrator for Defense Programs at the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA); former Managing Director and CEO of the UK Atomic Weapons Establishment; and before that, held many different director-level roles at Sandia National Laboratories.

Mr. Bruce Held

Former Associate Deputy Secretary of Energy as well as Acting Undersecretary of Energy for Nuclear Security and Director of the Department of Energy’s Office of Intelligence and Counterintelligence; and before that, served for three decades as a CIA operative.

Dr. Elizabeth R. Cantwell, PhD

Currently Senior Vice President for Research & Innovation at the University of Arizona; former CEO of the Arizona State University (ASU) Research Enterprise; and before that, Vice President for Research at ASU and a researcher at several National Labs.

Dr. Alton D. Romig Jr., PhD

Currently the Executive Officer of the National Academy of Engineering; former Vice President and General Manager of Lockheed Martin Advanced Development Programs; and before that, held executive roles at Sandia National Laboratories, including Deputy Laboratories Director.